Birthday Time!

There are few things I love more than my birthday. While it might rank second to Christmas, there is a love of celebrating the day that I was forced head-first out of my mother’s womb that knows few bounds.

It is around this time of year that I start thinking of things that I want to do to celebrate the day of evacuating the baby cave. Most of those items revolve around food, entertainment and spending time with awesome people, and this year will not be any different.

I'm the hair-blessed baby on the right.

So with an interest of full disclosure, this being a blog born of narcissism and all (like most blogs), I’m presenting to you, the Genial Black Man’s Birthday Day Wishlist:

  • Attending a Chicago White Sox spring training practice

Though I’ve been in Arizona for almost 6 years, I have yet to see my favorite baseball team warm up for the season. A bigger insult as a White Sox fan: I’ve attended several Chicago Cubs spring training games. Blasphemy! I will rectify this slight this year while I still can.

  • Zia Records Phoenix pilgrimages

I love music, and I love the Zia Records music store franchise, so a trip to the local Zia Records stores in the area is gas-hogging no-brainer. My CD consumption as purposely dwindled as most of my music purchases are now digital, so it would be nice to add a CD/DVD or 17 to my collection.

  • Chicago Auto Show trip

It’s a yearly tradition to go to the Chicago Auto Show, the annual event for the auto industry to parade retail and concept cars. I love cars in stock form and futuristic design, and I enjoy sizing up my next (realistic and unattainable) set of wheels. It is also a chance to spend time with family, which makes it all the more enjoyable.

Ballin' out of control in a Volkswagen Jetta Sportswagen! Shit is GANGSTA!
  • Breakfast out

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. Surprisingly, there are good breakfast-focused restaurants in Phoenix. The past few years, I’ve done an annual breakfast birthday gathering with friends, and I hope to do the same this year. (I need a breakfast equivalent of “The Swanson,” but my love of pancakes mirrors Parks and Recreation character Leslie Knope’s fervor for waffles.)

  • Dinner at La Grande Orange

While Phoenix pizza fans favor Pizzeria Bianco for their wood-fired vittles, I prefer the awesome thin-crust pizza of La Grande Orange Pizzeria. If you’re not a vegetarian, the Gladiator pizza — schreiner’s sausage, pepperoni,
premium cheese and red sauce — is the equivalent of a food semi-boner. Also, the adjoining restaurants house a gelato shop and a grocery store with a great bakery.

  • Donut overload

I love donuts, and there are few round-hole creations that will sour my taste buds. (The Simpsons Movie-themed donut from 7-11, pictured below, is the only one that has, however). Though I’m still learning about Phoenix’s baked goods, my places of choice are Barb’s Bakery in Phoenix and Krispie Kreme donuts. They will be getting a visit from this guy.

The only thing better than eating a donut is eating one in the foreground of the Apocalypse.
  • Michigan Avenue shopping

While taking in the Chicago Auto Show, it’s only natural to venture down Michigan Avenue in the downtown Loop. I’m more of a window shopper by choice (blogging doesn’t bring in money for me, for now), but I’m always on the lookout for something to add to my wardrobe, home or kitchen collections. Michigan Avenue is also home to some of the most beautiful women in the country. (Friends that have visited me in Arizona dispute this, but I am stubborn on the subject.)

  • More food!

If you couldn’t tell by now, I like food. And aside from Christmas and Thanksgiving, birthdays are occasions for mucho consumption. This year, I’m thinking cake, ice cream, dark chocolate cranberries and cheesecake, followed by a food coma.

  • Movies!

I also sort of love movies. While the movie theaters aren’t known for their selection this time of year (Just Go With It? No thanks.), it would be fun to have a Bad Movie Night — the cheesier the selection, the better.

  • 4-Day Sex Bender!

A man can dream…

###

It would be crazy to expect all of these to happen, which is why I can only assume that 95 percent of these will come true. And if not, then there’s always the other 360-something days out of the year. But the fact that these normal things take on extra-special meaning around the annual celebration of clawing my way out of my mom’s birth canal is something of delight, indeed.

2 thoughts on “Birthday Time!

Leave a Reply

