The 5 Stages of Kanye West Hype Grief

Friday saw a flurry of tweets on Twitter with news that Kanye West’s newest album Yeezus (a nod to Ye’s love of the Beverly Cleary book Beezus and Ramona) leaked ahead of Tuesday’s release date. The fervor was like the last day of school, and the tweets made you believe that Kanye was about to lead a summer of suffering fools behind the mic and boards. Like Will Smith movies of old, the sheer joy was like the self-hyped anticipation for Big Willie Weekend. (We were SO YOUNG!)

And like Big Willie Weekend, we’ve been there and done that. Past Kanye releases had a mountain of hype preceding their birth, and they’ve mostly delivered. (Cruel Summer, Graduation and Watch the Throne? Eh.) So Yeezus had music fans salivating. As the French say, C’est la vie.

Like past pre-Kanye Days, I emotionally went through what is known as the Kübler-Ross model–commonly referred to as the five stages of grief. I’ve illustrated them in picture form below.

STAGE 1: Denial

“Oh lord, there can’t be another few months of people calling the new Kanye West album the best thing ever,” I thought. “Just when the internet couldn’t get any more insufferable. I WON’T believe it. I WON’T!” 

STAGE 2: Anger

“Oh lord, there will be another few months of people calling the new Kanye West album the best thing ever,” I thought angrily! “Just when the internet couldn’t get any more insufferable! I WON’T believe it. I WON’T!” 

STAGE 3: Depression

“Oh lord, PLEASE don’t let there be another few months of people calling the new Kanye West album the best thing ever,” I begged of the Lord. “Just when the internet couldn’t get any more insufferable. I WON’T have believe it, I WON’T–will I?!?” 

Stage 4: DEPRESSION

“Oh lord, there will be another few months of people calling the new Kanye West album the best thing ever,” I mused through my smiling facade. “Just when the internet couldn’t get any more insufferable. WHAT IS THE MEANING OF MY LIFE?” 

STAGE 5: Acceptance

“Yeah, it’s a pretty good album.”

3 thoughts on “The 5 Stages of Kanye West Hype Grief

Leave a Reply

